Social Security health insurance option for retired government school workers?

sanooki

Hello, I've been teaching at a Rajabhat for almost 7 years, but planning to retire soon. Apparently, government workers do not get put into the Social Security system, I recently discovered. They have a different health system, that I've made use of in the past, mistakenly assuming I was in SS. I tried asking the HR department about what happens after retirement for us, but couldn't get through the language barrier. It seemed she said there was nothing.

Can someone here please shed light on what happens regarding healthcare for retiring government employees, and of course, specifically farang government employees? It seems, from another post I read, that it is possible to buy in to the Social Security system while I still have a work permit. But, surely, government employees have some other option?

A Thai civil servant who retires stays insures under the civil servant. You are not a civil servant, so you will not be on the civil servant medical insurence, (unless you have a Thai wife who is a civil servant). Check with your university which healthcare plan you are under. Might be private insurence. If you are under the social security system they will deduct 750 baht a month from your salary, which you deduct on your tax form.

As far as i know you can only continue social security if you are employed and already are in se soccial security system when you lose your job or retire.

• Thanks 1

Thanks, guys. As far as I think I've been told, I'm not in the SSS. They apparently never enrolled me. I think their system is private, or at least to them. I was told I won't have anything with them when I retire, which is consistent with the fact I'm not a government official. Yes, I'm a contractor.