Deep Well Pump

StevieAus

For about the past ten years we have pumped water from a 22 meter deep bore using a Hitachi DT P300 GK Deep Well pump.

The water has always been very clear and without sediment and used primarily for irrigation but also as back up when needed if the local water is switched off.

About 6 months ago we started experiencing problems with the “ foot valve” clogging

We were advised to switch to a submersible pump, we already had a GS brand pump which had never been used.

This was installed and although the volume of water has increased it now contains fine sediment sand/ grit

The only advice received to date is,

1 / the submersible pump is too low in the bore and needs lifting

2/ pump out the sediment/ sand from the bore

As I have no experience or expertise in this area any advice to fix the problem at source would be appreciated 

Thanks

The pump inlet should not be less than 2m above the base of the borehole. If the hole has been tested and there are technical details available the pump can be installed just below the water inflow depth. Sediment is seldom a problem in a borehole as the soil acts as a filter, unless there was insufficient casing installed or a section has collapsed.

• Like 1

3 hours ago, Gav Bic said:

The pump inlet should not be less than 2m above the base of the borehole. If the hole has been tested and there are technical details available the pump can be installed just below the water inflow depth. Sediment is seldom a problem in a borehole as the soil acts as a filter, unless there was insufficient casing installed or a section has collapsed.

Thanks for your prompt reply and advice which seems logical to me

I don’t have any technical details as the bore was put in about ten years ago.

I will have the depth to the bottom measured and go from there

Thanks again

13 hours ago, StevieAus said:

Thanks for your prompt reply and advice which seems logical to me