Roofing Advice needed

UTBoro

Hello. We have a bungalow here in Thailand and the painters working on it today noticed we had a few broken tiles in the middle of the roof. They reckon that we’ll have to remove all of the tiles above the broken tiles ( about 6 rows) in order to replace them. I know nothing about roofs or tiles so is he right or can I just lift the tiles in the next row up to replace them? Advice appreciated????????97BA8F47-5778-4535-BF81-52AA648FDDF5.thumb.jpeg.bf09b11aab16705c215ce344e896f3c1.jpeg

Your roofers are talking nonsense, those tiles can be individually removed and replaced, I've done it loads of times. It is possible, although highly improbable, that each tile is wired to the strut, in which case a trip into the roof void may be necessary to cut the first wire, thereafter it can all be done externally.

Edited by nigelforbes
spelling
  • Like 1
  • Thumbs Up 1

I'm not a rule roof expert. But as a mechanical engineer I have carefully examined several types of clay tiles and their install.  Can you believe I am interested enough to stop and observe at most construction jobs of all types while in Thailand or on vacation.   Many clay tiles have a hole in them near the top. I believe yours will have 2 holes since they are wide and have 2 valleys each.   The ones I saw in Thailand had a hole in the valley.  If they put a nail or screw into to batten on the tiles above your broken one you may need to remove all the way up to and including the ridge.  And depending on which way your ridge tiles are running that can dictate how much ridge needs pulled up.  Your tiles look like the type that have many interlocking features so you won't be able to just pull out a tile and replace it.  

Very beautiful roof and patio you have there.  I do see signs of water damage on your patio ceiling. 

Prepare to replace other tiles that may break when they walk in the roof.  I'm pretty sure you have some Spare tiles you have stored all these years.