Am I That Slow ?

waldpyk

The last 6 months i'm trying to learn myself Thai (pimsleur, books,cd 's)

Almost every day about an hour , but i have a feeling that it goes very slow

Reading (Manee and friends) and talking like a 4 year old (except for the pimsleur sentences that suddenly pop-up and flow seemingly effortless from my mouth to my own amazement.But mostly it is still very difficult to follow what they are talking about or even what's the subject is they are talking about , especially in a group of people

Anyway what's your experience , am i really that slow : how long did it take you before you could take part (more or less ) in casual conversations and read the newspaper a bit

info : i'm 63 and 2-3 times a year a month in Thailand , mostly at my sons place

No you are not slow. Every one has their own pace.

I have been learning Thai with a teacher for 3 years now and am still not fluent. Each time I think I have 'cracked' it I meet someone I just dont understand at all.

I read and write Thai quite well, but often have a problem understanding what some people say.

Just don't give up - treat it as fun - a long term hobby.

I find that when I have practised a sound and no one still understands the word I am saying I ask them to help me pronounce it - it can become a game of sorts. Best not to try this at the Immigration Office though I discovered!

By the way, my wife and her family do not speak any English so I have to make myself understood at home anyway. I am not sure this helps though as for a while I used to speak a special brand of Thai which included all our silly ThaiGlish phrases !!!

Good Luck

Edited by dsfbrit

I've been learning for 6 years and i'm still rubbish. At least i'm better than my father in law learning english. He can say, "good morning", "Sit down" & "Dink Beer" but i guess that's enough right? :o

The last 6 months i'm trying to learn myself Thai (pimsleur, books,cd 's)