Buyer Beware

mild7even

An unfortunate experience, but good for learning...

Bought a web camera from IT City in Panthip Plaza yesterday and it didn't work with my computer (I am not a novice with computers). Brought it back today, as there is a sign that clearly says bring back defective equipment within seven days.

After around 20 minutes of several people working, they managed to get it working with their computer. But as I told them, it didn't work with my computer.

Well, they refused to give me my money back, and even refused to give me a store credit (I was ready to exchange for some RAM chips on the spot). Spoke to two supervisors in the store, and even one on the phone. All said no. And the third supervisor refused to give me a name and phone number of anybody else in the company in order to try and resolve the situation.

It was very embarrasing to be put in this situation, and I and my wife spent a total of 45 minutes in the store, the whole time feeling very much put on the spot. I am sorry if I embarrased any of the employees, as it was uncomfortable for all involved, though I did my best to inconspicuous.

Oh well. I'm out 2400 baht. But, it is a relatively inexpensive lesson to learn--could have been a big ticket item. I've also been on the market for a laptop recently and was browsing in that store. I guess the bottom line is that I paid the price to know never to shop there again.

I always feel leery about buying these kinds of things in Thailand due to the possibility of situations like this, though other stores (namely Siam TV and Lotus) have been very good about returns.

Anybody else with horror stories about returns? Or good experiences? The good ones are stores we should be buying from.

An unfortunate experience, but good for learning...