Mixing Concrete

rhino533

I'm not a Pro when it comes to concrete. Could anyone tell me the proper mix ratio for Concrete and Sand? Should I add any gravel? I'm using the concrete to fill holes and support concrete posts that are 1.5m tall. Thanks!!

The mix of concrete these days is different to when I was a lad but as a rule of thumb, I still use:

1:2:4 mix (smooth finish) - 1 part cement, 2 parts sand, 4 parts aggregate (by weight)

1:3:6 mix (rough finish, foundation concrete) - 1 part cement, 3 parts sand, 6 parts aggregate.

For mortar (brickwork), 1 part cement, 3 parts sand.

For screed I would use the same formula as mortar perhaps with slightly less sand.

The volume of water added is a little trial and error but basically the slump should be no more than 50 mm for bog standard construction.

J

Simple slump test: fill a small bucket with concrete and vibrate well. Tip the bucket upside down on a level surface and gently remove the bucket leaving a concrete cone. The top of the cone should not slump more than 50 mm from the height of the bucket.

Typically, a batch of concrete can be made by using 1 part Portland cement, 2 parts dry sand, 3 parts dry stone, 1/2 part water. The parts are in terms of weight – not volume. For example, 1 cubic foot of concrete would be made using 22 lbs cement, 10 lbs water, 41 lbs dry sand, 70 lbs dry stone (1/2" to 3/4" stone). This would make 1 cubic foot of concrete and would weigh about 143 lbs. The sand should be mortar or brick sand (washed and filtered if possible) and the stone should be washed if possible. Organic materials (leaves, twigs, etc) should be removed from the sand and stone to ensure the highest strength.

For a more comprehensive explaination try Wikipedia