Percentage Of Farangs In Thailand Who Are Here For Sex?

bonobo

Please, I mean this most seriously. I am an amateur sociologist and have published often on sociological subjects. So why people do what they do fascinates me.

I have often heard that 10% of all tourists to Thailand are sex tourists. I am not so sure that number is valid, but be that as it may. However, I have long been under the impression that most farangs living in Thailand are here either because of work or are here because they married a Thai national, and living with him or her in Thailand is preferable for cost-of-living or other reasons than living back at home.

But from casual reading of the posts, it seems that no matter the subject, many posters make either sexual comments or refer to the bar scene, bar girls, etc.

There are a lot of women who post here, and despite threads in the women's forum like the beach boy thread, I can't imagine that too many women come to Thailand for sex. I may be stereotyping here, I know, but I just can't see it.

For the men who regulary post and continually refer to sex, are these men who came here and live here for that, or are they here for other reasons but take advantage of the sexual opportunities? Or could they be just making comments without regard to their actual lifestyles?

And when I read the cynicism of many posters who seem to dislike everything about Thailand, I wonder what keeps them here. At the risk of unsubstantiated conjecture, could it be the relatively easy access to sex with younger women?

I have met expats all over the world and in countries where sex is not readily available. But most places do not have the numbers of expats that exist in Thailand.

I am not castigating anyone here. I am just genuinely curious. And while I know I can't get any firm scientifically valid answers here, I would love to hear thoughts, comments, opinions, and reasons people have on the subject.

• Replies 384
  • Created
  • Last Reply