Tourist Visa Requirements Changed?

As I have every year for many, many years, I applied for a tourist visa for two months to go to Thailand during prefectural university break. Being a university professor I use the time to work on my Thai language and visit friends including three boys whom I have been sponsoring. I have spent huge amounts of money paying for medical operations, helping families buy land to build homes, financing children's education, etc. Lately I have been told I must have a letter of authorization from the university to go to Thailand including my position as professor and the time period allowed by the university. Suddenly, this month I have been told I must include the time I have been employed as a tenured professor and my monthly salary! After submission, I was informed that now I must also have a bank statement! Have requirements been changed? There is nothing posted at any of the Thai embassy sites or on the web anywhere. Am I just being singled out? Being a civil servant employed as a professor at the prefectural university ought to be enough recommendation and guarantee of my eligibility for a tourist visa for two months, I should think. Any suggestions or information to give me?

First post since you joined in April 2007? A man of few words.... :o

Yeah - sounds like you are just being singled out. The embassies/consulates all over the world have the right to ask for ANY extra documentation they might require. Is there a consulate somewhere in Japan you can apply at rather than the main embassy? Could be an idea.

Cheers!