Brain Infection

krading

A friend of mine's Thai wife died recently in Korat BKK hospital after 2 days in ICU. The cause of death was stated as 'Brain Infection', a condition I seem to hear being diagnosed quite often. Her symptoms were a severe headache for 2 days during which she became unable to move her left leg. I'm no doctor but I would think from these symptons that it would be more likely that she had an aneurism which was leaking and putting pressure on the brain. They did 2 xrays but said there was nothing to be found. Is 'brain infection' a Thai medical term for the condition of "Buggered if we know"?

A friend of mine's Thai wife died recently in Korat BKK hospital after 2 days in ICU. The cause of death was stated as 'Brain Infection', a condition I seem to hear being diagnosed quite often. Her symptoms were a severe headache for 2 days during which she became unable to move her left leg. I'm no doctor but I would think from these symptons that it would be more likely that she had an aneurism which was leaking and putting pressure on the brain. They did 2 xrays but said there was nothing to be found. Is 'brain infection' a Thai medical term for the condition of "Buggered if we know"?

You may remember just over a year ago when Big, a famous Thai pop star died after 4 years in a coma following a car accident when his car plunged into a polluted canal resulting in a brain infection. Read story:

http://www.nationmultimedia.com/2007/12/10...al_30038479.php

By unhappy coincidence I have got to know a young Thai man also called Big who contracted a brain infection over a year ago and this has resulted in some lasting brain damage. His infection may have come from handling dogs in kennels. Very sad as he suffers from recurring seizures.

Yes there is such a thing as a Thai neurologist, I have met at least one that I can remember.

Yes there is such a thing as bacterial menningitis & I would expect to see it preety prolificly here in Thailand.