Raw Deal From A. Hole

I would like to hear from anyone in the know about making the application for a work permit myself.

Briefly, my circumstances are as follows:

1. I am a teacher here in BKK and both the school (pretigious) and the Agent Hole (greedy) want to retain me.

2. I have had a Work Permit before when I worked at NIDA U.

3. I have postgraduate qualifications from a respected foreign university.

4. A. Hole has a lock on the school via the usual connections and payments (say no more!)

5. A. Hole recently confirmed a 10,000 baht fee (not including visa costs) for arranging WP

6. A. Hole did not bat an eyelid when I retorted that none of the many other agents I have worked for have ever charged anything - not even the 3-4,000 baht in mandatory govt. fees.

7. I have not commited myself yet, but the school has small classes (that's their main 'hook') and short hours

Would it be practicable to do the running around myself and save maybe 5,000 baht?

I am planning to go down to the one-stop office down on Ratchada, Dindaeng next Thursday (April 10) so I hope someone can provide some useful info besides how to get away with taking the agent's offspring captive.

RAW IN BKK

One-stop center is for BOI type business people and has not been located on Ratchada for several years - do not believe they offer anything other than 90 day address reporting for others at there current location of Rasa Tower 2, fl16 on Phaholyothin Road.

I would suggest you think very carefully before bypassing the entrenched "Agent" simply to save a few thousand Baht - particularly if you plan to stay at that school for some time.

He will remember the slight and is obviously in a position to cause you considerable problems in the future.

Patrick

I would suggest you think very carefully before bypassing the entrenched "Agent" simply to save a few thousand Baht - particularly if you plan to stay at that school for some time.