Setting Up A Small Family Business

Hi I’m new to this game so if I sound naive (well that’s because I am).

I’m thinking of setting up a small 3D Computer Animation Training Centre in Bangkok.

Something like 5-8 machines so taking on 7 students a week for 3500 baht each doing short one week courses; Beginners, Medium and Advance. I’ll do the talking and showing in English and my wife who is Thai shall do the translation.

Am I on to a winner?

Would a young Thai guy be interested and be able to fork out the dosh or am I asking too much?

I’ve been training in 3D software for 6-7 years.

All remarks appreciated

Edited by penzman

Hi I’m new to this game so if I sound naive (well that’s because I am).

I’m thinking of setting up a small 3D Computer Animation Training Centre in Bangkok.

Something like 5-8 machines so taking on 7 students a week for 3500 baht each doing short one week courses; Beginners, Medium and Advance. I’ll do the talking and showing in English and my wife who is Thai shall do the translation.

Am I on to a winner?

Would a young Thai guy be interested and be able to fork out the dosh or am I asking too much?

I’ve been training in 3D software for 6-7 years.

All remarks appreciated

Did you consider advetisement expenses? Take "NetDesign" for example - a school for web design - they advertise EVERYWHERE - in most Thai internet sites, in the skytrain, they hand leaflets - their advertisment expenses are huge. And their courses are long - In the best case all of your students will do 3 weeks - meaning that every 3 weeks you need to find NEW students. How do you plan to do that?

You/your company has no reputation in Thailand - ask yourself whether you are willing to operate it if you'd be able to do only a course a month or every 2 months in the first year.

You'll be mixing it up with Thai animation companies. Animation is a government "sponsored", or encouraged, industry here, so you should keep that level of competition in mind as well.