Banks In Chiang Mai

HowardB

Hi everyone

My apologies if this post has beed done to death.

I'm an Australian resident with Thai wife. We travel to Chiang Mai regular but have never looked at opening a bank account in joint names. Can anyone tell me of a bank in Chiang Mai where I can open an account with minimal fuss, as in Passport and money. I am not looking for advice on the pro's and con's of opening a joint account.

I want to use this account for transferring money from Australia when I buy a condo and general use for when i'm in Thailand.

Howard

Choice any bank that you like you'll have no problem, I recommend the Bangkok Bank on Tha Phae Road. Since your wife is Thai it will make the process alto easier. As I say that if you have a problem because of your visa just go to another bank and some will open an account for you.

Edited by gotlost

Mrs. T and I did just that before moving here. All I had was a tourist visa at the time but were were able to open a joint account. Bangkok Bank, Kad Suan Keaw Branch. I think most branches of most banks in the tourist areas would be used to dealing with such account openings.

I opened an account with a passport, a three month tourist visa, a residence hotel's address card, plus money with Siam Commercial.

No wife, however.

I went to Siam Commercial today with passport and a one year student visa and they wouldn't open an account for me because I didn't have a student ID or work permit. Apparently it's up to the bank officer you ask.