Buying Pda In The Us - Need Some Advise

WhiteShiva

Hi,

I have long wanted to get myself a PDA with all the usual gadgets - you know; phone, e-mail, internet access, camera, etc. I am off to Houston for a couple of weeks (1st visit to the US, BTW), and was told electronic goods are cheaper in the US than here in the LOS. Planning on finally picking up that Canon digital camera I asked about here a few months back, as well.

Since I am new to these type of devices, I was wondering if anyone here has any recommendations (breand/model) or advise. I have been looking at the HP and Asus brands, but as usual getting any type of useful information out of sales staff here in Bangkok is impossible. Anything in particular to look out for? Will I be able to use the phone here in Thailand? - I understand the US uses a different type phone system - will this be a problem?

Appreciate any commnets or suggestions,

Cheers,

Whiteshiva

If you buy a PDA/smartphone, such as the Palm Treo 650, make sure you get one that is GSM. The US uses both CDMA and GSM phone networks. Thailand uses only GSM. Also be sure the phone is quadband. I know that the Palm Treo 650 is a quadband if it is a GSM phone. The problem you will find is that you will be paying a premium for a PDA phone unless you are signing up for at least a one year service contract.

If you buy a PDA/smartphone, such as the Palm Treo 650, make sure you get one that is GSM.  The US uses both CDMA and GSM phone networks. Thailand uses only GSM. Also be sure the phone is quadband. I know that the Palm Treo 650 is a quadband if it is a GSM phone. The problem you will find is that you will be paying a premium for a PDA phone unless you are signing up for at least a one year service contract.

Thanks for that feedback, Donx. GSM and quadband is a must, then. :o

Will certainly check out the Treo 650.

Thanks again,

WS

I was in the US in May and they seemed quite far behind SEA as regards the higher tech phones and PDAs