Permanent Residency

Hi Everyone,

I'm an American English Conversation Teacher living here with my Thai wife. We moved from my home state of Florida in September of 02.' I know it normally takes three years of living here on the same Non-immigrant visa to obtain Permanent Residence. Once member (can't remember the name) remarked some time back that he'd been here as a PM for six years and said that once you get this status, the Thai government pretty much leaves you alone...only requiring that you inform them of your address every year or something along those lines. I also know that only a certain number of nationals from each country are granted this each year when applications are turned in (around December I think) and a big fee must be paid upon issuance of the permit.

I would like to know what anybody's experience has been regarding the PM status and what they went through to obtain it. I'm sure some of the members on here have lived in Thailand for many years and their experiences may be similar to ours. I have a work permit and my "O" visa is stamped with a "B" (or similar) stamp stating that I'm allowed to work. Once the permit expires, so does my visa unless I sign on again with my school or find a new job. So far, my wife and I have been lucky not to have to show money in the bank more than once. Any info would be of great assistance. Thanks!

I know it normally takes three years of living here on the same Non-immigrant visa to obtain Permanent Residence

Having a NON IMMIGRANT VISA for three years isn't what qualifies you for Permanent Residency. Its three consecutive one year extensions granted by THAI IMMIGRATION.

But if you were asked to show proof of funds in the bank you must have had an extension as this is one of the requirements for a support based extension "O".