Offshore Work In South East Asia

hi guys,

i am currently in holland working on refurbishment job on ( atlantic labrador ) jack up rig then we are going offshore to denmark in few weeks time, i am a deckhand welder with b.o.i.s.e.t cert, mist cert, medical, fire fighting and emergency response certs. my thai wife and baby are back in uk ( alone ) and she is finding it difficult without me there as baby is only 2 years old and my wife does not speak the best of english ( she cannot read bills etc etc etc ) so my sister has to call regularly . so my wife wants to return to thailand and to be honest i would rather she was there with her family, we have homes there also and i want my daughter to be brought up in a good enviroment ( i have no family back home , apart from my sister ) can anyone direct me to any agencies etc or websites that deal with offshore work in se asia ? and would i be likely to get work with my current certs etc? this is my first trip im going out on in 3 weeks.

any advice much appreciated, thanks

A lot of people live in Thailand and work elsewhere in the world on rotational basis. I live and work in Thailand and have watched the gradual phasing out of expats in Thailand in favor of locals.

If you have a short experience on working offshore then my advice is stick with the present job for a while. Maybe relocate family to Thailand and commute. There are some pretty good deals on airfares if you look.

A couple of websites that I use are Rigzone and Atlas4jobs. Both are dot com addresses. The big areas at the moment are Angola and Australia, both have work permit issues and Aust has unions involved in marine works.

Cheers

Deck hands and welders... All the standard positions are usually held by locals in each of the S.E. Asian countries..

Unless you are a driller / tool pusher etc... I doubt you will face much opportunity to secure work with a rig in Asia.