Exporting Question

Hi

After spending several months researching how to make a living in Thailand I finally decided that teaching was the safest bet. However, I am always on the look out for income opportunities. I stumbled across a product here in Thailand that has good selling potential back in the UK. The product is only small and therefore does need a lot of shipment space to reach my desired profit targets. I don’t really want to have to open up a full blow company to trade. I have no experience in exporting - can anyone recommend any good books or websites to enable me to increase my knowledge on the subject.

Cheers

Hi

After spending several months researching how to make a living in Thailand I finally decided that teaching was the safest bet. However, I am always on the look out for income opportunities. I stumbled across a product here in Thailand that has good selling potential back in the UK. The product is only small and therefore does need a lot of shipment space to reach my desired profit targets. I don’t really want to have to open up a full blow company to trade. I have no experience in exporting - can anyone recommend any good books or websites to enable me to increase my knowledge on the subject.

Cheers

Except you are forwarding by using mail or a courier service (usually allowing 20 - 30kgs max depending on the country of destination) you will require a card issued by The Customs Department of Thailand.

The card is usually referred to as But Kaeng (= Hard Card) by the forwarding companies and has the size of a credit card. It bears the photo of the owner, the tax number, an expiry date (it is issued with a three years validity) and other relevant data.