Where To Get A Set Of Not Too Expensive, Just Normal Tires?

cyberholz

I was in the market for some new tyres recently. In the last couple of years the price has gone up substantially sad.png

Good tires are not included in the inflation basket, because we all know a) there are no monopolies in this country and B) nothing gets more expensive.

Hey cyberholz - that sounds very expensive - are they a special size / profile ? What make were they trying to sell you ?

Seems crazy, as the price of rubber has dropped through the floor for Months already, and I believe they make them here.

I bought tyres 6 Months ago now, and after looking at Bridgestone / Michellins - the cheapest I found were GoodYear - cost me 11,000 straight for a set of 4 with free balancing and alignment, and they'll swap the tyres round at 50,000 km for free. I'm not an expert, but they drive fine.

I went to a B-Quick, and they were about 3,000 more expensive, and wanted to give me a stainless thermos flask (worth 1,000 baht) instead of knocking the price down.

Actually the GoodYear centre gave me a 3 Year 100,000 km warranty, which the other brands don't - normally they give you 50,000. It's interesting to note, they had some more expensive ones that actually give you free, Nationwide breakdown recovery if the tyres fail - and they still weren't anywhere near the price you were quoted for yours.

Be very careful with second hand / retreads here. Maybe drive out of Bangers for a better deal.

Goodluck.

Two months ago,I bought a set of second hand tyres for a Vigo, from a small shop on Pahonyothin Rd. The tyres were second hand, but still had loads of tread on them. They were Bridgestones. The guy wanted 1500bht each, but because I had all four changed, my wife got him down to 1000bht each all in. I had no problems with them, and I'll definately use the shop again. It's up near Don Meuang airport.

Bquik and cockpit tend to be expensive, I found Tyre Plus to be better.