In the driver’s seat: the road to certification #10%CombodiansPossessLicence

geovalin

As few as 10 per cent of Cambodians behind the wheel possess a licence. Of those who do, many have paid a bribe for it. The exam is corruption at its most laughable

When I moved to Phnom Penh almost three years ago, I followed the traditional steps taken by foreigners new to the city. First, I rented an apartment. After that, I bought a motorbike.

My purchase, a Daelim that can’t have been more than 75cc, was an unwieldy, sputtering vehicle that set me back $250. Seeing the bike for the first time, my landlord remarked that I’d made a wise decision, as no one would ever want to steal it.

Though I’m a licensed driver in the United States and have been behind the wheel of cars for years, until that moment I’d never driven a motorbike or motorcycle. I practised by taking a test drive in the parking lot at work, doing a few laps, fiddling with the gears, tapping the break, slowing down, speeding up, coming to a complete stop. So far, so good.

The former owner dropped the bike off at my apartment a few days later. I was too scared to bring it out for the first week, but I eventually worked up the nerve one morning and, hands gripping the steering wheel, heart beating with terror, merged into rush-hour traffic.

Had I known then that this informal experience – buy vehicle, hop on vehicle, drive – is more the rule than the exception, I might have left the Daelim at home.

drivinglicensestory.jpg?itok=gjKFNDFJ
There are 2.7 million registered vehicles in Cambodia. Charlotte Pert

According to the Ministry of Public Works and Transport, there are 2.7 million registered vehicles in Cambodia, including cars, motorbikes and larger trucks, but only 860,000 driving licences have been issued, and many of them have been bought with bribes. That last clause is not according to the ministry, though it does admit that the practice occurs.