Restaurant Purchase

Hello one and all and a Happy New Year.

I have been working in Bangkok for 2 years now and finally seem to have found a small restaurant to purchase after a long long search.

I am hoping people can offer advice and point out any pitfalls that I should avoid.

I will list a few questions that you may be able to help me with.

1. I want to set up a Thai Limited Company (7 shareholders), registered capital of 1 million baht. How much should it cost for the legal work? I was quoted at 30,000 baht.

2. I would like to have overall control of the company with my Thai girlfriend being one of the shareholders but me and my family making up the other 6 - with our combined shares being more than hers. Is this possible? Is it done by change the Articles of Association of the Company?

3. I am buying an existing business but may not want to retain existing staff. Do I have any monetary or compensation responsibilities?

4. Can anyone recommend and give contact details for lawyers with experience in the restaurant industry.

Any help or advice or links would be appreciated.....

Have a happy and prosperous New year...............

To the best of my knowledge, and this has applied to companies I have set up over the past few years, Thai nationals need to control OVER 50% of the company and there must be numerically more Thai shareholders than non Thai.

If you do your homework right and negotiate successfully, you should ensure all employees are "let go" by the previous employer and any responsibilities paid up and taken care of. You can then re-hire them under your own terms and conditions, including a trial period, (very important).