Steel welding advice required

Tofer

Our builder has had to make some adjustments to the steelwork in our roof structure to rectify their mistake. They have cut out sections of steel in a lattice truss and are welding the struts and cross bracing bars back together with the main header bar.

As there are some quite large gaps between the sections being welded back together, largest being about 7 - 8mm, my question is whether a weld across such a large gap is strong enough. The steel sections are 1.8mm RHS.

I have heard it said that a weld is stronger than the steel being joined, is that correct or an old wives tale?  

Any expert knowledge would be very much appreciated thanks.

Yes a small bridging plate or an angle iron is the easiest for everyone to do.

you will find that a gap wider than the stick electrode often needs plugging with extra rebar.

I am still a pants novice at welding but I have found using a plate to join steel guages of 1.0;1.2 is far easier than burning an even bigger hole in it.

Well it wont be the first problem you have, as he no doubt is up to that stage, & fixing the problem himself

Have you looked at the other welds to see if they run in a smooth line then you will be able to determine that he is also a professional welder 555 

Be cheaper and quicker to cut some filler slips or insert small rebar if you have it. Cheaper as in using rods to fill that size gap will take time and quite a few rods. As for the strength of the adjustments I wouldn't be overly concerned as it will all tie in and be pretty substantial when completed

"Professional welder" chances are slim on that one..... make sure all the slag is chipped off and just check all the welds are in fact connected to both sides

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

1 hour ago, Anythingleft? said: