Where to buy "baker's yeast"?

gobs

Thanks all for your help :thumbsup:

And thanks for the picture, Jdietz. As I know nothing about that (beginner here), this way I know what to look for on the shelves...

As well as I plan to give a visit to Yok (need some baking tools), I'll give a look at baker's yeast there too...

For now I'm playing at home cooking family-style (easy) cakes with baking powder. As that's fun, I'd like to go a bit further and bake my own bread :tongue:

Again thanks to all...

1 hour ago, vogie said:

Sorry I can't tell you where to buy in Chiang Mai, but in Pattaya we have a local baker what sells 500g packs for just over a hundred baht, a big saving on buying small packs.

rps20171027_111630_889.jpg

That is the brand that I use except I buy mine from Makro in KPP.

37 minutes ago, vogie said:

I used to make to make 12 rolls at a time, now I've upped it to 24, I have found that they last me twice as long. ?

I can only get 8 on the tray and I only have 2 trays and a table top oven but they come out reet tasty like.

I have taken 2 photos but poxy TVF STILL will not allow me to post them.

The same problem for more than 2 weeks now.

Is there a material difference between one instant yeast brand and another in the resulting bread? If so, what?
Yes. My wife used to run a bakery and found the yeast in Makro in the gold packaging the best to use. The bread was noticeably lighter.

Sent from my R2D2 droid using my C3P0 manservant

Again thanks to all for your inputs.

Finally, today I went to Makro for grocery shopping and found the yeast Fermipan Brown, 500gr, 117 Bahts. Pack is gold and brown.

To those who know: is it ok to bake home made bread? What does "brown" mean?

There was also Instant Success yeast, 500gr, 116 Bahts. Pack is blue and white.

Also, all purpose flour seems cheap to me at Makro. Prices begin at 27 bahts/kg. I took the Kite brand flour, 34Bahts/kg (I like the name :laugh:).