STD testing in Chiang Mai

Artful Dodger

Can anyone tell me how STD/STI tests work in CM and especially:

- how long it takes to get results

- what they generally test for

- whether they use the "triple swab"

I am just getting into a relationship and we have had the talk about this. We put each other at risk maybe 10 days ago, but if I go along with her and get tested now, it's really just to show support, because HIV doesn't usually show up for a couple of months, and anything else can wait until then. Her situation is different because plenty of things can cause infertility in a woman if not treated right away. I'm not sure she realises this, but I don't want to put her off or make her go on her own when she wants me to come with.

In the UK you just give a blood and urine sample unless you have discharge (sorry), but I know other places routinely use a swab test (i.e. scrape the urethra) because I went once and it's not something I'm going to forget. What's the score in CM? I like this girl enough to have an extra blood and urine test (I will go in a couple of months anyway) but I'm not sure about the triple swab.

Also, from what she says they only test for HIV and syphilis, which is a bit of a concern. Do you have to ask specifically for anything more than that?

Thanks,

AD

An HIV test and STD test can be completed within a couple of hours. Just a simple blood test to gain the results, I think.

HIV cannot be detected least than 3 months after having sexual contact with an affected person. Some doctors say it requires 6 months to obtain accurate results. 

2 hours ago, Loaded said:

And what kind of life is that?

It's so easy to avoid STDs - wear a condom and enjoy life.

Although I fully realise condoms must be used if having sex with people we hardly know, especially hookers, condoms really do spoil the experience. It`s like taking a bath with your socks on.