The Big Move

Steve Ireland

Hey All,

Have been to Thailand, namely Pattaya several times. The usual stuff, fell in love, blew them out, etc etc. Have finally decided I'd rather be in Thailand than here. Nothing keeping me and more reasons to go rather than stay. I'm 36, will have circa 5 Million Baht and the decision to go is made and I'm happy about it. I have millions of questions but a few of the practical ones could use your input please.

I return for 3 weeks on November 10th to sort house, transport, etc etc and am compiling a 'to do' list.

1. Bike Vs Car - I have pretty much decided on buying a new moped, yet I drive a number of cars, a van and a motor bike here ( I'm a professional singer, hence the van for my equipment, sound and lights etc). Are the running costs, practicality, insurance etc much different between the two? Is insurance as expensive as Ireland for example? Thoughts?

2. TV/Stereo/DVD etc - I am deciding what things to ship. Are there compatibility issues between Ireland and Thailand? I have a very large screen projection tv here, should I ship it?

3. Houses for rent/Areas - I have decided not to sell up here initially. I will rent for the first 12 months or so, possibly 24. Are there areas to stear clear of? I think if I go, perhaps 10Km Max outside Pattaya I will get a better propoerty for less money. I intend the November trip being a very busy one and will have a list of houses to see when I arrive. I will also just drive around and call numbers I see on houses for rent. Got a Thai phone on my last visit (5 weeks ago). I want 3 beds and pvt pool, a step down from here but I don't NEED 7 beds, I live alone. The extra beds are for visiting family and friends, of which I am sure there are many:) Any areas spring to mind for any of you? Any non-obvious considerations I may be missing?