Pleasant trip to Nonthaburi Immigration - hope it is a sign of things to come!

I need to go to Nonthaburi next week..I hope they don't regress to old form. Now if they could only move the office to a civilized location instead of buried in no man's land we might actually have something.

My trip to Jomtien was similar, for first 1 year extension in Feb, they were so helpful ( I did things wrong) and then my 90 day in March, same in and out very fast... IO have been nice people and very pleasant.

It’s a pleasure to hear good reports!  I’ve been coming to Thailand for business and holidays for 20 years.  I’m now retired and have been living in Chiang Rai for 2 1/2 years.  I’ve never had any issues with the immigration people here.  

• Like 1

2 hours ago, Pattaya Spotter said:

Maybe a part of their new campaign to lure more foreign retirees to Thailand post-pandemic to revive the economy; reports the govt is considering relaxing home ownership restrictions and streamlining the visa/renewal process.

Well they could IMHO make a start in streamlining the visa/renewal process by reversing decisions made over the past couple of years or so to impose (1) a ridiculous health insurance requirement on retirees holding original or current non-OA visas, (2) a specific obligation on embassies to verify monthly 65k+ income (in the hope that the American, Australian and British embassies will then reinstate their income confirmation services) and (3) year-round seasoning for retirees using the 800k method.

Edited by OJAS
  • Like 1

On 4/1/2021 at 1:20 PM, Rhacsyn said:

Hi

Had a similar pleasant experience at Phuket immigration this morning. My 90 day report. In and out in 5 minutes. Perfect english and a smile.

I totally agree..... I've always had good professional service from Immigration, over the past 15 years.

The lovely guy who likes joking at room 103, each year at renewal time and the polite, efficient (under 5 minutes) drive thru for 90 day reporting.