Teaching Time: Is analog English out?

phuketsub

I am an English-language teacher, currently teaching mostly prathom level students. 

For many years I put a priority on getting kids able to 'tell the time' in English: 

'2:15=Quarter past two', '9:50=Ten to ten', as based on the analog clock. 

But since the main point is to get the kids to be able to communicate effectively, I have been wondering if all that is useful anymore given that the majority of clocks seem to be analog these days. 

The issue raised itself again when I was recently talking to a friend back in the States who said that even 

his two teenage kids there had trouble talking about time in the analog way, but rather just read it off the clock:

2:15= two fifteen, 9:50=nine-fifty. 

So I guess I am just wondering if anyone else on this topic on a very rainy day down here in Songkhla...

Don't Americans usually say 15 after, or a quarter after, rather than quarter past? Ditto (in reverse) with quarter to. Not that we need to emulate Americans of course, just that it's better to standardise imho.

Consequently I've come to the conclusion that 3.15 = three fifteen or 2.45 = two forty five etc. This is also the simplest way to tell the time in Thai too, so it's the easiest  method for Thais of all ages to pick up, and suits British, American and other native forms of English.

But thank Buddha that telling the time in English is less difficult than the traditional Thai way of splitting the 24 hours into 4 segments.

PS I've never actually seen two fifteen for example as exclusively analog, but I see what you mean.

Edited by blackprince
  • Like 1

12 hours ago, blackprince said:

Don't Americans usually say 15 after, or a quarter after, rather than quarter past? Ditto (in reverse) with quarter to. Not that we need to emulate Americans of course, just that it's better to standardise imho.