Electric Capture Surge Protection Device

Bangkokhatter

Have just had a prototype of this device fitted into my consumer unit.

It was invented and designed in Korea and its main function is as the title suggests, my main reason for agreeing to the installation was safety. However they also claim there could be savings of up to 30% on your electric bills. Part of my agreement for the installation is monitoring of my electric usage via the MEA smart App.

I am not an Electrician by trade (more Mechatronic) so don't fully understand how it works but they claim the electric savings are based on any Earth leakage going back into the system, savings obviously depend on how good your house wiring is.

The safety aspect is self explanatory in the video attached, taken by me.

Currently not available for domestic sale in Thailand until probably the end of this year, the device can be used in both single and 3 phase.

If anyone wants more info and a better demonstration video let me know and i can pass it on.

ECSPD_1.jpg

13 minutes ago, Bangkokhatter said:

However they also claim there could be savings of up to 30% on your electric bills.

This is a major red flag!!!

It will be most interesting to see what actually occurs.

But there is no way that a device as shown in your photo could be anywhere near fast enough to prevent a lightning induced surge. Sustained over-voltage yes, but there are plenty of those on Lazada.

Please do post your better video.

• Like 2

34 minutes ago, Crossy said:

This is a major red flag!!!

It will be most interesting to see what actually occurs.

But there is no way that a device as shown in your photo could be anywhere near fast enough to prevent a lightning induced surge. Sustained over-voltage yes, but there are plenty of those on Lazada.

Please do post your better video.

As i said they claim the energy savings, part of the reason for the installation is to see if those claims are true