Mexico v Thailand

5 minutes ago, Chicksaw said:

Absolutely. As long as you can dodge inter-cartel crossfire and having your head blown off, Mexico is a very competitive alternative to Thailand.

Yeah, that's an obvious drawback. Are gringo lower in status than farang?

6 minutes ago, Furioso said:

A lot of people move to South Brazil, day 1 start learning Portuguese and it can be a very happy place. 

Yep, gotta learn the local lingo. Thai is hard. Spanish much easier. I studied it in the US and was actually holding my own in conversations on trips to Central America.

I understand Portuguese is a not too distant cousin of Spanish. Should be a fun project to try and learn it and then head over to Brazil, even if only for a vacation.

Btw, when you say South Brazil which towns in particular?

12 minutes ago, Chicksaw said:

Yep, gotta learn the local lingo. Thai is hard. Spanish much easier. I studied it in the US and was actually holding my own in conversations on trips to Central America.

I understand Portuguese is a not too distant cousin of Spanish. Should be a fun project to try and learn it and then head over to Brazil, even if only for a vacation.

I lived in Portugal, Portuguese is not easy, even though the Spanish and Pr. can understand each other more or less. Brasilian Portuguese is likely even more difficult being loaded with Creole. 

I tried out Mexico, Aguascalientes is as safe as it gets, and every brand is American, and cheap.

Fun fact: A German neighbour working at the vast VW plant there had a Thai wife! 

Anyway, I enjoyed the Philippines more than Mexico, but Thailand beats the Philippines  for safety, medical, and infrastructure, especially infrastructure. Burning trash every night makes the suburbs there smell like a war zone. 

And the stench from the trash they do collect would waft from Cebu City over the water to Mactan Yacht Club.

Why can't they even get the basics working right?