Wp Without Thai Company?

I have a non-B visa and I have been coming into the country for the last 3 years or so about every 4 months, staying for 1-2 weeks. I do a few days of business and then relax for a few days.

Now it looks like I will be setting up my base of operations in Bangkok instead of Shanghai and I am sure that I will need a WP now since I will be doing a lot of work via the interent, phone calls, and visiting the factories.

Problem is that I work for a US company and we have no offices in Thailand. We have a couple of factories that we purchase products from, but no operations or company here.

How can I get a work permit that allows me to be in Thailand more and do my work with the factories if we dont have a Thai company?

Will I need to create a Thai company and hire 4 employees and do everything like that in order to get the WP? I don't think the company is going to spend the 2 million baht to create a company here. They would just tell me to stay in China instead, and I am beginning to really hate China.

Any suggestions?

Jim

It just might be that your company's activities do meet one of the many criteria for issuance of a Thai work permit. You can check the regulations at the following link which has a translation of the current Work Permit regulations http://www.thaivisa.com/forum/index.php?sh...rt=#entry536468

If not, it's not as expensive to set up a small company here in Thailand as you might think.

You could establish a Thai Limited Partnership as a mechanism for getting a work permit. Such a limited partnership does not need 4 Thai employees, just 2 million THB Capitalisation per WP. The 2 million capitalisation can be initially set up for a few thousand baht.

Note that the capitalisation is the limit of liability for the company and does not have to be sitting in your bank (ever).