Alternatives To Sand In Filter?

jaideeguy

I've been using a sand filter for 4 yrs and have replaced the sand twice now in the hopes of improving the filtration, but no improvement.

I vaccume all settled dust and dirt off the floor and can see it returning thru the filter and not getting trapped and have even been doing immediate backwashes that will slow down the cycle somewhat. my feeling is that the sand that i buy from two different sources is not really crushed and graded quartz sand with good filtration qualities, but simply river or beach sand that is rounded and not efficient in filtration.

Have heard about zeolite or crushed recycled glass as a filter media and hear that both are far superior to sand in filtering small partacles.

has anyone here switched their media from sand to zeolite or recycled crushed glass?? and did you notice any improvement in suspended particals and clearity??

You are correct in the fact that the sand is not good quality silicate sand here in LOS.

The more you backwash the quicker the sand breaks down!

Silicate sand is available but it comes at about the same price as Zeolite.

Both Zeolite and recycled glass are superior than the rubbish sand used here.

Zeolite is a form of recycled crystal from volcanic rock and recycled glass is well?

Both do an excellent job of removing iron and they do a better job than silicate sand.

You will pay about 1000 baht a bag of Zeolite and about 2000 baht for R/Glass.

Zeolite will last over 7 yrs and R/Glass up to 15

Cheers

I think what 'enjoyinglife' is refering to is maybe a flocculant and I may try running a little thru my filter.

"You are correct in the fact that the sand is not good quality silicate sand here in LOS.

The more you backwash the quicker the sand breaks down!"

Interesting.....I was thinking the same as when you backwash, it disturbs the sand and may over time round it so that it's particle trapping abilities are degraded