Thaksin Believe To Win Next General Election

george

PM believe to win next general election

SAKON NAKHON: -- Prime Minister Thaksin Shinawatra expressed his confidence today that his ruling Thai Rak Thai (TRT) Party would win the next general election, scheduled for 6 February.

The prime minister told journalists when helping his party's candidates launch election campaign in Thailand's northeastern province of Sakon Nakhon that he believed voters would support his TRT Party, particularly those in the Northeast. where people appear to be confident in the TRT.

"Voters know well that I work hard and has had good performance, but I am not good at being the opposition; so, I believe voters will support my TRT Party because they don't want me to become the opposition leader", he said.

"I'll also tell the voters that they should elect TRT candidates in both the party-list and the constituency-based systems to ensure that the TRT Party will win the next general election. If they elect TRT candidates in the party-list system, but vote for candidates of other politicial parties in the constituency-based system, TRT will become the opposition, which I believe they don't want", he added.

Candidates of other political parties have reportedly urged people to vote for TRT candidates only in the party-list system.

The prime minister also warned all TRT candidates to work hard and make field visits to people in their respective constituencies regularly, or they would be withdrawn from the election race if they failed to pass his final evaluations.

--TNA 2004-12-25

PM believe to win next general election

SAKON NAKHON: -- "Voters know well that I work hard and has had good performance, but I am not good at being the opposition; so, I believe voters will support my TRT Party because they don't want me to become the opposition leader", he said.

--TNA 2004-12-25

He means " I have no interest whatsoever in being a powerless out of the spotlight opposition leader" :o