How Does The Baht Stay So Strong?

dennis3506

Maybe this topic has already been discussed, but I can't find it.

I don't have a degree in, or even a basic understanding of world economics, but it just seems very strange that a developing country like Thailand has what appears to be one of the strongest currencies around. Our Aussie dollar has devalued by at least 30% against the Baht and I believe UK and USA currencies have taken similar losses. I'm sure the Thai economy must be paying the price, if not in exports, in tourism. Surely the Baht can't remain this strong against other currencies?

• Replies 66
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The baht has fallen against the dollar in the last year it was a low of 31 to the dollar around last feb, today it stands at 35 to the dollar from xe.com so a 12% devaluation against the dollar, it reached 35.9 about 3 months ago but unfortunally fell

I'm no expert either, but have the feeling that the current strength of the BT owes something to "creative accountancy" i.e; what is declared as value may not represent actual value. Buying time. Also, Thailand does have some monetry reserves.

But, this is just a guess. wait for someone who knows what their talking about to comment!

Edited by Geekfreaklover

The baht has fallen against the dollar in the last year it was a low of 31 to the dollar around last feb, today it stands at 35 to the dollar from xe.com so a 12% devaluation against the dollar, it reached 35.9 about 3 months ago but unfortunally fell

When I was in Thailand 5 months ago, the Baht was 31 to the Aussie dollar on arrival and was 22 three months later when I left. It may have improved to 23 now, but that's a far cry from 31. Anyway, that still doesn't answer my question as to how the Baht has remained so strong.