If you could own your own business...

mrentoul

In the course of living here most people have probably come across a business, potential investment or hobby and thought: 'If I had the time and money I'd love to do that.''

These ideas don't have to be as bold as a muitli-million baht Subway eatery in Silom; they could be a simple start-up which you could run with your girlfriend or a few Thai staff, exploiting a long-term interest or skills you've built over over your career. Your bright idea could even run to something you'd like to do to help people.

I'm particularly interested in hearing about business ventures you've come across which are run by or owned by westerners, but which employ Thai staff.

Here's my bright idea. I'm a print journalist who enjoys writing, so I guess it's only natural I should be drawn to print products.

People tell you that Thais don't read, but I don't believe it. Judging by the number of titles available, there is no shortage of newspaper and magazine readers.

One thing I'd love to do before I die is own and run a small magazine...and there's one which I've seen here which I particularly like. It's a Thai-language magazine, published every two weeks on ordinary newsprint, called Koo Sang Koo Som (helpmate). It's owned by a senator who's been doing it for years.

A Thai friend tells me that it's hugely popular and of course it provides the senator with plenty of profile-raising opportunities (he appears in it often).

The best stories come from readers, who send them in. Another regular feature talks about people who start poor but end up rich, through perseverence.

Cheesy? Yes, a little. It's at the low end of the market (just 20 baht), as the production values attest: the type smudges easily, the pictures are hard to make out and so on. But as I say, it's popular and would keep me more than busy.