Which Visa / Work Permit?

Hello All,

I am hoping that someone may be able to shed some light on a couple of questions I have. I have not yet been able to locate any answers that are applicable to my situation.

I am a 29 resident of the US. I am currently employeed by a US company and I would like to relocate to Thailand in the next few months. I would continue to work remotely for my US company, which does not have an office in Thailand. I would continue to be paid out of the US and pay income taxes to the US government. I plan to stay for approximately 2 to 3 years.

So, becuase I would not be working for a Thai company (or a company with an office in Thailand), I am not sure if I would need a work permit or not. I am not opposed to obtaining one, but I dont think that I meet any of the criteria. Any ideas on this?

Also, my job will require me to occasionally travel back and forth to AUS, Europe, and the US. I assume that I will need a multiple entry non-immagrant visa, but I am unsure about the visa category. Would I be able to get a B or EX category, if I am not performing work for a Thai company?

Thanks In Advance

-Mestizo

Fora 29 year old American, unmarried, without an employer in Thailand, the only provision to allow you to stay here longer than 30-60 days at a time is to get an investment visa, for placing designated amounts into fixed deposits at government designated banks here.

If you can live with making border runs every 30 days (taking an out-and-back daily bus), then you could effectively come here and work via Internet for your overseas employer, and Thai officialdom would generally not bother you. But - this is not a guaranteed solution - Thailand can modify short-visit rules and impose new restrictions whenever they see fit.