Can I Get A Job In Thailand?

Hey all, Im just going to come straight out with it... I am a graphic designer and I want to move to Thailand to work and raise our soon to be present baby with my beautiful thai wife of 2 years.

Am I just kidding myself or have I got a chance?

Is it possible that my dream of moving over and working in a print company or similar possible?

Could it be, that some employers would consider taking me on and what do I need to make it happen?

I understand that more info about my situation will be required and will provide if anyone replies.

Any help would be more than appreciated. :o

Wow, thanks! Will apply now, do you know of any sites that I could check? I have already checked the job section on ThaiVisa.

Does anyone know what kind of nightmarish procedures I will have to face trying to get a work visa? Or is it a case that if I get a job, I an get a visa easier?

I've operated a company in Bangkok for 10 years. We've always had two or three graphic designers on our team who worked together with our technical staff. The typical salary ranges somewhere between 10k and 30k ($280 - $840 per month) . You might be able to negotiate a higher salary if you have foreign language skills or special expertise.

Probably there aren't too many graphic design positions open to foreigners since this is one field where the Thai labour market has many qualified people. It will be especially hard in the current economic climate.

I am not saying this to dishearten you. But in the long run it would probably be better (=financially more attractive) to bring your own clients from abroad and either work self employed or start up a small business in Thailand.

Cheers, CMX

Edited by chiangmaiexpat

Wow, thanks! Will apply now, do you know of any sites that I could check? I have already checked the job section on ThaiVisa.