Purchasing Land

Hi,

I am new to this. I am going to Thailand with my mother to try to help her get her father's (he passed away 30 yrs ago) land situated so she can build a home on it. I don't understand how land is bought and sold in Thailand. She says the land she has is not the type that can be sold or rented and is land that is in the family and passed down. It was passed down to her brother who passed away 3 yrs ago and now we have to try to figure out what to do now. I guess someone has "paperwork" that may be something like a title that we need to get situated. Hopefully this makes sense to someone that can explain it to me. I appreciate any advice. I would like information on who in local government or whatever agency deals in title work, building permits, etc. Thank you in advance for responding.

Blessings,

Thaiwegian

Hi,

I am new to this.  I am going to Thailand with my mother to try to help her get her father's (he passed away 30 yrs ago) land situated so she can build a home on it.  I don't understand how land is bought and sold in Thailand.  She says the land she has is not the type that can be sold or rented and is land that is in the family and passed down.  It was passed down to her brother who passed away 3 yrs ago and now we have to try to figure out what to do now.  I guess someone has "paperwork" that may be something like a title that we need to get situated. Hopefully this makes sense to someone that can explain it to me.  I appreciate any advice.  I would like information on who in local government or whatever agency deals in title work, building permits, etc.  Thank you in advance for responding.

Blessings,

Thaiwegian

Your mother is Thai ?

Hi,