New Visa Before Existing One Expires?

Short story: I've been extending my visa on retirement for over 6 years but this time I am told I didn't have my money in the bank for at least 3 months and now need to go out and get a new visa. (OK - I should have been watching this forum to know that. But, 2 years ago - after just leaving the money in my account for 5 years - I was told I need to "spend it". So that's what I did and then put it back in about 1 week prior to my visa extension request. Yah.

Anyway.... my current extension expires Dec. 31. My plan is to go to Vientiane for a new visa tomorrow but just got caution by a friend that maybe they won't give me a new visa until my current one expires. Aaagh!

Does anybody know for sure?

The situation: I have been extending a Non Imm. B visa since 1995 (8 years while working and 6 years while retired). So, my current "stay" is valid from an extension valid until Dec. 31.

So, the question is: Can I get a new visa in Vientiane and return to Thailand before the 31st? (Then I can get my anual extension 60 days after that - I am told.)

Reply FAST FAST please as I intend to do this tomorrow.

Cheers.

If you leave Thailand without a reentry permit, your current permission to stay on your most recent extension ends at that point. So I think you will be OK to get your visa. However, what you really need is a report from someone who has done similar at that embassy. Many Thai embassies and consulates run by their own rulebook.

Edited by Jingthing

Another question first. Do you have any income from within Thailand or from abroad?

The rules say:

800,000 in the bank for 3 months

OR

an income of 65,000 a mont (from within Thaiand show tax papers and from abroad get a letter from your embassy confirming your income)

OR

a combination of yearly income and money in the bank. In this case the money doesn't have to be in the bank for 3 months!

So, do you have a pension?