Honda Cbr Info Please

james1desmond

hey guys i have a honda cbr 150 but i know very little about bikes, so i was wondering if anyone could help me with info on the performance of the bike as when its gets to 100km an hour it feels a little unstable which from other posts seems odd, and any info on modifications that improve performance and handling would be great.

I brought the bike second hand its 2/3 years old, i changed the tyres and brake pads as both were well worn, recently i changed the chain and sprockets as it had missing teeth and was clicking.

i have been looking through forums and realise this will probably be pulled apart by people who have far too much time on their hands, but i am an English teacher not a bike mechanic so genuine help only and lets keep the sarcasm to a minimum. thanks

post-93511-1266634653_thumb.jpg

You say you do not know much about motorcycles, so it is possible there is nothing wrong with your bike. They can feel a little unstable if you are not an experienced rider when you get over 100kph. Things like wind and such have more of an effect. You just get used to it after awhile. Just remember that when you are riding that fast, bad things can happen to you faster. Spend some time getting used to the bike before you start riding it at higher speeds. Other than when I am on a good road out of town do I ever ride above 80kph. Also, if you have missing teeth on your sprockets and other damage, you might look at the frame and the wheels and make sure everything is still straight. It is possible the bike was either raced or wrecked. If you have a bent wheel or something it will make things worse the faster you go. I had to replace the wheels on my NSR when I first got it for this same reason. They were bent. The CBR is a great in town commuter bike. Enjoy it.

Tim

The Honda CBR150R is a motorcycle capable of 120km/h without doing much effort, if your bike doesn't go over the 100km barrier then there is something wrong mechanical.