Need Police Records Help -- Living Abroad

I am currently a contractor overseas for the US Government and my wife is living with me overseas as well. We were married about a year ago and we are now working on doing her green card paperwork. Everything has been easy, except for the thai police records. I sent her home awhile ago to take care of some things (she is from Khon Kaen) and she also was going to do her police report. Now this is mostly my fault, but failing to do any research, she went to Bangkok (after calling and bringing all papers they told her to bring) to obtain the police report. They failed to tell her that she needed a letter from the US Embassy stating why she needed the police report, so that trip there was a bust. Now she is back with me overseas and we need to get her police report. We went to the thai embassy here and they are stating that she needs to do a power of attorney etc..... but I read that I can just mail 2-3 (i forget) copies of her fingerprints, and a few other documents to the police station in bangkok along with a self addressed stamped envelope and they will mail it back.... Is this true??? None of her family is in Bangkok and it would be not that easy to send someone down there to get it for her... I really dont want to have to send her back to thailand for another month while we do all this....

do i have any options? Will mailing the fingerprints and everything work (will they send the police report back???) Also, does the police report come back in english, or will i have to get that translated again?

Please help, this is the last document I need and we will be finished.

Thanks

i guess what im really asking is has anyone ever mailed away for the police records and been successful?

if so, what steps did you take?

My wife is about to apply for a spouse visa from within Australia after having a successful fiance visa granted. I spoke with immigration about 2wks ago and they told me that I will