Cultrual Driving

More likely that you are used to driving on the other side of the road :o

I am a better driver here and in the UK than I ever was in Belgium or Italy.

I just hate to think what will happen when I take my Thai driving techniques to the UK, probably get locked up before I leave the airport car park.

My Thai wife is a better driver in BKK than I am. The reverse is true in the USA. I guess we are better estimates of what to expect in our own homes.

I felt impressed when first moving to Thailand 5 years ago that thais could deal with the traffic, etc. Now I realise that they are just oblivious to everything that goes on around them. The idea is that other people must look out for them. Friends and neighbours often take me to the airport and when they take a wrong turning I say "didn't you see the sign". Normal reply "you haven't got time to read signs when you're trying to get somewhere quickly" :o

[i felt impressed when first moving to Thailand 5 years ago that thais could deal with the traffic, etc. Now I realise that they are just oblivious to everything that goes on around them. The idea is that other people must look out for them. Friends and neighbours often take me to the airport and when they take a wrong turning I say "didn't you see the sign". Normal reply "you haven't got time to read signs when you're trying to get somewhere quickly" :D