Reccomendation Letter From Boss

Movingon

hello all

I think I should post on this category.

I plan to take a mater degree and aplpy for scholarship but it requires 2 reccomendation letters from professor or employer. I requested from my professors already but they seem to be pretty busy lately so I'm not sure that they can make it in time for me. So far I got one from my professor.

Anyway I have been working for 2 years so I think at least 1 recommendation letter from employer would be more preferable. The question is that if I request it from my boss [Japanese] would that effect to my bonus and salary increasing for the following year? I want opinion from anyone in this site because many of you are bosses. Would it effect the feeling in office esp. for me that would employer think that "oh you gonna leave, so bonus and salary increasing is not that necessary for you" ?

I really worry my boss graduated from usa. I think he would be generous for this, but I still worry. I don't know what is in his mind because I plan to study abroard I'll go only if I get scholarship and if I don't I'll keep working with this company and applay master degree in Thailand instead.

Should I request recommendation letter from my boss? This makes me frustrated for weeks:(. As a boss what do you think?

Based on my personal experiences and observations of my similarly aged friends getting masters degrees in the U.S., these letters are not really required unless you are going straight from a B.S./B.A. Adults going for a masters after a period of years of work are seldom required to fulfill those requirements.

Of course, your mileage may differ depending up the school and whether or not your master work will be in the same field as your work experience.