Relocation/living Questions

Spee

Hello Expats,

US expat here ... first post (sorry, a little long) so please bear with me ...

I am planning to marry a Thai woman that I met outside of Thailand. When we finalize our plans, we will relocate to Thailand for the wedding and for living. We want to make our home near her family in Northern Thailand near Chiang Mai and Lampang, and live in the Thai style.

I have already read much of what I can find on Northern (Lanna) style Thai weddings, as well as the various legalities and red tape for marriages between Thai and US nationals.

I've also read much of what I can find from available travel books. I have also been developing Thai language speaking and writing skills, with the goal of one day becoming fluent.

My profession is IT networking. I have not yet decided if I will try to find work in Thailand, or if I will travel for work throughout the SE Asia region.

What I am looking for now is information that I can't find in bookstores, the internet, or from my girlfriend. Can anyone offer any other helpful hints or advice? Specifically, I'm looking for thoughts and input on ...

- For the marriage, how to best pop the question. My girlfriend is a traditional Thai girl. Her father and first husband are deceased, but the mother is living. So I don't know if it is proper protocol to just go ahead and ask her directly, or should I get in touch with the surviving parent and ask first. My western way says is okay to just ask her directly, but I don't want make a faux paux with tradition either.