Hi All,

I am in my late 20's, married to a Thai, we both live in Australia. We're looking at coming over in the next year or so and assessing work options.

I am a pharmacist by trade - is there any legal reason why I would not be able to purchase pharmacies in Thailand and have Thai pharmacists manage them?

Cheers

Look here for some basic legal information: http://www.boi.go.th/index.php?page=index&language=en

You can only own a minority share in a Thai company.

Not true. If you're a US citizen, you can own 100% due to a treaty between Thailand and the US. And even if you're a non-US citizen, it's still possible to own a majority share. For this you'll need to apply for special privileges, your local DBD office.

I can always put 51% under my wife anyway. Does anyone know if you have to be a registered pharmacist in thailand to own a pharmacy or where I could find out? In Australia you have to be a registered pharmacist to own a pharmacy....

Also in the restricted list is:

Retailing, unless not less than 100 million baht capital is invested, or having minimum capital for each shop of not less than 20 million baht

Would a community/retail pharmacy be considered retail?

Edited by nicholasmerwood

Not true. If you're a US citizen, you can own 100% due to a treaty between Thailand and the US. And even if you're a non-US citizen, it's still possible to own a majority share. For this you'll need to apply for special privileges, your local DBD office.

How does a foreigner (legally) get to have more than a 49% shareholding?

Before setting your sights on purchasing a pharmacy, I'd suggest walking a block in any direction from anywhere in Thailand. You can't swing a dead cat without hitting a small pharmacy here, and you can't walk more than a few blocks in any developed area before you pass a major chain pharmacy.