Yamaha Mio Newer Battery Always Dead

Rice_King

The title basically says it all. I have a 2006 Yamaha Mio (bought new by me) with a new battery that will not keep a charge.

This Mio had not given me any problems until about a year ago when the original battery would no longer stay charged. The battery (and bike) was 5 years old then and I just assumed the battery had gone bad, so I replaced it with a new one at the local Yamaha shop. About 1-2 weeks after the battery replacement, it was dead again. That episode just keeps repeating. Within a week (or two) of having it charged in the shop, I wind up having to kick-start it. I have had it back in the shop more times than I can count because of this battery issue. Meanwhile, the shop doesn't seem to think anything is wrong. The mechanics seem content to keep charging it for me -- happy to say at no additional cost to me (other than my time).

I have limited knowledge of these bikes. I know that automobiles have a charging system that keeps their batteries charged. Wouldn't my Mio have a similar setup? It is my wife and mine only motor vehicle so, as you might imagine, it is ridden a minimum 10-15 km per day.

What would prevent the battery from keeping a charge? Or why isn't it getting charged by our daily use?

I think you were lucky to get 5 years, I find batteries a bit like a lottery the sealed ones on bikes seemed to last the best.

The Mrs Mio is 2005 first battery lasted nearly 2 yrs, told that 's about it so bought the same and the next was gone just over a year, sourced and bought a sealed one called a G-max and it's readings are still good as of today. :)

If the new battery isn't holding a charge you'll need to look into the charging circuit a little further, seems like a bad earth, Stator or maybe something has melted from the stator to the battery.