Incredible price rise

hellyes2oo2

I love Singha Light Beer. The last time I was in Makro in Sisaket was when they where selling off all the old stocks of beer, before the price rise kicked in. Fortunately for me it seems i was the only one who wanted Singha Lite, they had 8 cases at the old price of 482Baht, so i bought them all. Yesterday on my monthly visit to Makro I went to buy some Singha Lite and could not believe the price rise, it had gone up to 605 baht a case. this is a rise(and i'm not good at maths) of around 27.5% a case.

So I didn't buy any.On my way home I called in Bigc in Sisaket and found that I could buy a large bottle of Singha Lite for 48baht a bottle, making the case price 576 baht. So I asked the assistant for 6 cases of Singha Lite, but was told I could buy Leo, Singha,Cheers, and Chang by the case but not Singha Lite or San Miguel Lite by the case. When I asked why The assistant did not know why. I could probably have embarrased her by asking to see the manager, but it really was not worth it. I even offered to buy 6 cases in single bottles of Singha Lite, as long as they gave me the empty boxes but was told no, sorry we can't do that.I would love someone to explain the logic in thai thinking.

P.S. the price of 482 baht per case of Singha LIte was not a sell off price, this had been the price for many months previously.

• Like 2

I buy LEO. The price at Tesco increased from 495 to 568 baht/case or 15% 1ncrease. If were you I would have just filled my basket with the single bottles that they had, piss on the box!

Agreed - bought two cases of 24 small bottle at TL Ubon yesterday. The case of Leo had gone up 15% and the case of Singha only 7%. Odd games being played either by the manufacturers or Tesco. Manufacturer I reckon

Somebody should tell Wikipedia, which still says:

"Boon Rawd Brewery also makes Leo, a non-premium beer" *