Is anything sacred?

watcharacters

I wouldn't call this a new worm, or a new style of attack vector. Picking out system defaults & trying to leverage them doesn't take a great deal of skill. As the article states, "The worm is designed to take advantage of an 18-month-old vulnerability in the OS that presents a Web interface to users for setting it up.", not very innovative. I've been a Sysadmin where Linux and other Open Source operating systems & associated applicaiton software has been the mainstay for almost 20 years & you bet Linux has vulerabilities. You have to update it & configure it properly or it's just as vulerable as any thing else out there. The nice thing about the Open Source community, it's a vibrant community that responds quickly to software bugs & issues fixes quickly. Again anything, improperly configured sitting on the Interent whether it be Linux, MAC, *BSD, or some sort of Microsoft Windows are likely to suffer a cruel fate, though usually it's the hosted applicaiton software that are hacked firsted. Update firmware, run the latest Anti-Virus updates, build tiered operating environments, and zones, implement restrictive group policies, monitor internal network traffic just as much as you do the external traffic & constanly review security advisements from trusted sources, that is my advise.

I wouldn't be surprised if that page/article was sponsored by Microsoft.

It is not a vulnerability to present a webpage for setup; it is a stupid decision to not have the machine refuse to initalise its WAN port or allow the user to access any outside traffic until they are forced to change to a non-standard password.