3BB Fiber WiFi Modem - LAN great, WiFi Terrible

LivinginKata

Title says it all.

I'm a newbie on this Internet forum. Made a search but so far no results found.

Dec/Jan we installed 3 off 3BB 30 Meg fiber packages on our 3 properties. Right away I noticed that the WiFi signal speed test checked out <5 Megs. Pointed this out to the installation engineer, he casualy said 'Oh that's normal - only get the 30 Meg speed on the LAN port'. I checked this out and sure enough I get at least 25 Meg on a LAN connection.

Trouble is that my tenants mostly use WiFi, and to say the least my 3 modems are all providing very very poor internet speed to WiFi users, talking about way less than 1 Meg. Where possible I have supplied a LAN line to selected tenants and they are all delighted with speed.

Question - how do I improve WiFi speed on the 3BB supplied modems. As a temporary method I have bought regular Wireless Access Points and connected LAN/LAN ports. This works quite well, but not such an elegant solution.

I cannot be the only member experiencing this problem. Solutions welcome, thank you.

Generally Wifi can have 1/3 of the nominal throughput capacity even in the best environment.

Is the location busy area in the way that there is plenty of hotels, apartment etc which are using Wifi? If that's the case, it could be that the airwaves are 'busy' as everybody are trying to use the same resources.

You can check from your routers which channels they are using. These are normally marked as Channels 1 to 14. General rule of thumb is that only channels 1, 6,14 does not overlap each others radio frequencies. If in the locations there is someone using Channel 6, then change your wifi to use Channel 1 or 14 (the highest might be 12 or 13 as well).