PowerCommander for z800

wowjudo

Hello

I plan to get a PCv for my z800 (has a titanium gp1 scorpion slip-on only + kn air filter)

This would be the first time for me getting a PCv and install it ( I have to install it myself since i live in an area with no big bike tuner within the next 300 km)

Is it really worth to get it ? I dont plan to get a full exhaust.

Is it easy to install myself and what is needed besides the PCv unit. I heard something about an auto tuner

Any advice appreciated

cheers

I have no experience with PC, but the programmer that I've been working with requires a computer with interface cable and programming software. As well you will need maps for your current setup (like exhaust, air intake, etc...).

It's definitely worth installing but you would be better off getting a full exhaust and hi-flo air filter too. A Bazazz unit maybe better for you as this will give you traction control too. A PCV is better where you can use their dual autotune the Bazazz only has a single autotune but new units are now Bluetooth compatible.

In any case you really need a dyno to check your fuel curve and see what AFR works best for your bike, without a dyno you're working blind. There are a lot of other mods you will need to make too, dropping the exhaust solenoid valve and eliminating the closed loop O2 sensors and fitting exhaust block off plates etc.

RSD uses Woolrich Racing reflash mapping they mainly deal with Kawas. It's a good system.

Do your homework first. Power Speed Shop in BKK sell and fit both units and have proper dyno facilities.

I've ordered quickshifter from them (will get it somewhen this week) and will install this myself first.

I'll see if i can get somewhen to bangkok with my bike to tune it properly. Thanks for the advice ATF.

I'm just very unsure about the Traction controll bazzaz offers. Doesnt a proper Traction controll need sensors aswell etc ?