Shopping for a Nice Silk Scarf

junglechef

Want to buy a present for my Aunts 80 Birthday, going to party and want to bring something from Thailand. Thinking silk scarf but as I'm not an expert on older women's wear so any suggestions will be appreciated, thinking around 3000 bht range.

Know there are Jim Thompson stores but wondered if they are priced for the tourist and I can do better elsewhere.

Maybe at the Shinawatra Store across from KSK but would like a local find, even drive to a factory outlet etc.

Thanks,

JC

Jon--there is a shop off of Nimmenhaemin called Cosmos which sells pretty neat stuff. Howard-one of the co-owners, designs scarves and has them printed in very limited quantities on high quality silk. You can google Kaliedoscarves to look at some of the patterns.

• Like 1

I've met Howard at a friend's place (I won't name names but thanks for outing me facepalm.gif ) and saw some of the early samples and am a "friend" of their FB page. Been wanting to check it out, thanks for the reminder, I'll stop by and see if they have any Thai inspired work.

Edited by junglechef

There is a shop that sells very nice silk scarves in the Night Bazaar - been there for years. Sorry name totally escapes me.

In main Night Bazaar building (up steps). On the right hand side about 50m from the front. She also has the shop in the front unit but her really nice scarves are in the shop just behind which is her original unit.

• Like 1

There are several shops on the road on the east side of the Ping River -- the road with the Riverside Restaurant and Goodview Restaurant that have high-end silk scarves. They are on the opposite side of the road from those restaurants. They have excellent selection and will package the scarf in a beautiful box, too.

Sop Moei Arts is one of the shops. You'd be supporting local hilltribe artisans with your purchase.

http://sopmoeiarts.com/product-category/scarves/

• Like 1