Bangkok Bank / NY transfer exchange rate?

I have been utilizing Bangkok Bank NY for several months and have been satisfied enough. But I had $200 I wanted to move so I decided on a whim to move $50.00 at a time. Bangkok Bank states there is no fee for amounts of fifty dollars and below. I received the transfer yesterday in the amount of ฿1432. For simplicity I will call that 28.50 to the dollar. Yahoo, Google etc. quoting +32.50 buy and sell (some sites quoting 32.84 [at the moment I checked]). I can not seem to get Bangkok Banks internet banking site to cooperate and haven't updated my passbook to verify previous rates (I'll do it later today). But is this correct? I thought I had received better in the past... or ???

Edited by Dogberry

From BKKBANK site http://www.bangkokbank.com/BangkokBank/PersonalBanking/DailyBanking/CurrencyExchange/Pages/Fees.aspx#1

'Receive an overseas funds transfer

Charge fee from beneficiary

Note You will not receive the full amount of funds

as Bangkok Bank will deduct a fee prior to depositing

funds into your account.

0.25% of the transfer value

(minimum 200 Baht, maximum 500 Baht)'

• Like 1

From BKKBANK site http://www.bangkokbank.com/BangkokBank/PersonalBanking/DailyBanking/CurrencyExchange/Pages/Fees.aspx#1

'Receive an overseas funds transfer

Charge fee from beneficiary

Note You will not receive the full amount of funds

as Bangkok Bank will deduct a fee prior to depositing

funds into your account.

0.25% of the transfer value

(minimum 200 Baht, maximum 500 Baht)'

Got it... so in smaller amounts (like 50 bucks) it really shows up in what you get even without a fee... in large amounts the ฿500 cap blends into the total transaction and ends up looking like a better exchange rate... curiosity satisfied.

Edited by Dogberry
  • Like 1

To accurately determine the rate given (for over $50 transfers) you have to reduce the amount of your transfer request by the dollar fee charged (based upon their price list)