Whiskey Franchise

hlfourie

Hi guys, my wife has been carrying on with me about this idea of going to Bangkok paying for a course that will teach her how to make whiskey, she will then do the course and receive a franchise to sell it, we are in Ubon Ratchathani so she wants to open shop here. There is no paper work to show me, she just got the number from a friend. Do you think this can be true / legit? They are looking for around 50000 baht but I still don't know for what. Does anybody have an idea?

Hmm, sounds to good to be true. Don't hand over the money just yet.

I have heard you can make your own beer, but not sell it and getting the license to produce for sale is hard or just not possible.

As for opening a distillery I have zero knowledge, but doesn't it take years to make a decent drop? Even the cheap whiskys sit for around 12 years don't they?

• Like 1

Well ....if it were me and the wife was really pushing it....

I would go to Bangkok and check out the school where they will teach her to make Whiskey. Does the franchise include all permits and licenses And the equipment to make the whiskey (kettles, pots etc)??? (and check with applicable gov agency to make sure up to date and legit)

If franchise does not include permits and licenses ....

Then I would check with the government as to the rules and regulations on making alcohol. (permits licenses etc.)

Lastly you would have to look into distribution ....again ...what permits, licenses etc needed

Why not do some research on the internet on "how to distill and make whiskey" to see what's involved ....may be that she doesn't even need to go to school, save yourself 50,000 baht

Good Luck

Edited by beachproperty
  • Like 2

The true setup cost to make enough whiskey to sell on even a small scale would probably be in the millions of baht.

We looked at a franchise in Australia that is a beer micro brewery. Just the setup cost was over $400,000AU. So that's around 12million baht on a good day.